Fantastic Foods

It’s Sunday, so I am trying out a new recipe and give you the down low.  Whenever I try new recipes, Francis gets to be my guinea pig.  So far I have not killed him, but you never know.

I have a wedding coming up in right around 8 months, so both of us have decided we really want to turn our eating around not only to be in the best shape we can be for the big day, but also we just want to feel good.  There are so many different blogs and recipes out there to choose from when making healthy recipes.  A few of my favorites are Paleomg.com, written by the beautiful Juli Bauer, and Taysteofpaleo.com, written by Taylor Nichols.  I use their recipes ALL the time!  They can also give you inspiration to try something different.

Since it is fall and Trader Joe’s has more pumpkin products than the Roloff farm in Oregon, I wanted to make a delish pumpkin treat.  Speaking of Trader Joe’s, a store opened up about4 blocks from my house and it has been amazing!  I walk down a couple times of week and they have so many wonderful and heathy options!  Too bad the only one that sells 2 buck chuck is not close to my house…  Anyway…I used Paleomg.com’s http://paleomg.com/ooey-gooey-chocolate-chip-pumpkin-bars/ as a starting block for my recipe, but put a few of my own twists on it!  First change, I made them into muffins.  Not a big change but they are easier for me to transport.  I did not have tapioca flour, so I subbed arrow root flour in its place.  The biggest change I made was adding bacon to some of the muffins.  Yes I said bacon!  Francis gave them 2 thumbs up and I am pretty sure I will probably not get any if I don’t have one soon!

Fran giving his approval of the bacon!
Fran giving his approval of the bacon!

IMG_1216

Recipe for Deeeelish pumpkin muffins

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup pumpkin puree
  • ½ cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • ¼ cup arrowroot flour
  • 1 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 slices cooked bacon
  • 1/2 cup of chocolate chips(I used Enjoy Life Mega Chunks, they are dairy, nut, AND soy free)

Instructions:

-Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

-Mix all of the ingredients, minus the bacon, together in a bowl

-Put cupcake liners in your muffin pan (I have a silicon muffin pan and it is AMAZING)

-Slice bacon and sprinkle them in the bottom of each muffin cup

-Fill each muffin cup about 3/4 full with batter

-Bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean

THEN ENJOY!!

Now have half a can of pumpkin left…what should I do with it?!

I went wedding dress shopping for the first time this weekend AND we had our engagement photos, I can’t wait to tell you all about it for Wedding Wednesday!

I am so so so excited to go to Chicago next month and absolutely cannot wait to see that gem below 🙂

My favorite
My favorite, my bro, my bear 
One thought on “Fantastic Foods”

  1. Congratulations on being a blogger. I love the name of your blog. I remember our conversation. I am enjoying reading it. I look forward yo more of your entries. Love, Lynne

    Like

Leave a Reply

